How does conversation linking work?
CurrentClient can automatically sync your conversation history to your CRM, keeping everything organized in one place.
When someone calls or texts you, we automatically check for a matching contact record and connect the conversation. If we don't find a match, that's okay! You can still communicate normally. We just won't sync to the CRM until you link a contact.
How can I attach a conversation to a client?
Desktop
When you are on the desktop you can easily update the contact associated with a conversation. Lets check it out.
Go click into any conversation in your inbox.
If a contact is attached
When this conversation is attached to a client it will look like this
You can see that the contact overview is listed on the right side of the screen.
If this connection is wrong or needs to be updated, you can unlink the contact from the conversation by clicking the "Unlink" button.
Now the conversation is not attached to any client, and we can attach a new one.
If a contact is not attached
When this conversation is not attached to a client it will look like this
(1) Shows the number you are messaging
(2) Shows contacts in your account already that have a matching phone number
(3) Gives you an option to create a new contact
From here, you can choose to attach to an existing contact or create a new one. That will link the conversation to the client and from this point on, any messages in this conversation will be synced to your CRM.
Mobile
When you are on the mobile you can easily update the contact associated with a conversation. Lets check it out.
Go click into any conversation in your inbox.
If a contact is attached
When this conversation is attached to a client it will look like this.
You can click on the contact name at the top to see additional actions.
Click on the "View" button to see the full contact details.
If this connection is wrong or needs to be updated, you can unlink the contact from the conversation by clicking the "Unlink" button.
Now the conversation is not attached to any client, and we can attach a new one.
If a contact is not attached
When this conversation is not attached to a client it will look like this
Go ahead and click on the "Add as a contact" button. And that will take you to a spot where you can now attach an existing contact record to this conversation.
If you don't have this contact created in your account, you can choose to create a new contact.
FAQ
Do you retroactively connect conversations to clients?
Not currently. We don't look back in time to connect past conversations to newly added clients. This is a popular feature request that we're considering for the future!
Do I have to sync conversations to my CRM?
No, syncing is optional! You can turn off CRM conversation sync in your CRM sync settings if you prefer to keep conversations only in CurrentClient.
What happens if I link the wrong contact?
No problem! Simply unlink the incorrect contact and then link the correct one. Future messages will sync to the newly linked contact.
Can I link one conversation to multiple contacts?
Yes! If you have a group message you can link multiple clients with to the message based on their phone number.







